PDA

View Full Version : Rocket Launch Cruise interest?

Sigmund
03-27-2013, 12:24 PM
Oribtal Sciences Corp is planning on launching their new Antares Rocket on a mission to resupply the ISS sometime in mid-April from Wallop Island VA. Would any of ya'all be interested in perhaps getting an impromptu cruise together to go see the launch?

bruthru2003
03-27-2013, 12:32 PM
That sounds like an awesome idea. As long as nothing else is planned, I would be in.

Sigmund
03-27-2013, 12:56 PM
What I'm referring to is described HERE (http://www.orbital.com/NewsInfo/MissionUpdates/Antares_Test_Flight/).

Great White
03-27-2013, 01:09 PM
only issue I see is that the launch is during the work week, but sounds like a cool cruise idea

Sigmund
03-27-2013, 01:15 PM
I've been thinking about that too. I have an advantage, in that I work in the science field, so my employers would be very receptive to allowing time off to attend a launch, but I know others do not have the same advantage.

Seldoon
03-27-2013, 06:11 PM
Sounds good to me. I'm always up for a good launch!!! I'm not sure how long a drive that is but I think I would like to go.

Arrow
03-28-2013, 11:22 AM
Think it's about 3-4 hours from Sterling.

I can't ever commit to anything beyond the next week or so, but I'll see what I can do. Normal work days are usually out of the question for me.

Sigmund
04-17-2013, 12:18 PM
Unfortunately, I have not been able to coordinate this, too much going on at home :( The launch attempt is today between 5pm and 8pm if anyone is interested in going on their own.

Wulfpak
04-17-2013, 08:24 PM
this sounds like a great idea

Arrow
04-18-2013, 03:52 PM
Wish I could, but I'm swamped at work and swamped with family and swamped with getting my 'Stang back on the road. So free time for activities not related to those is SOL.

I do like a good rocket launch, though. You haven't lived until you've seen a NASA rocket leave the Earth.

BMFGT
09-04-2013, 05:12 PM